Salad Nicoise-Vegetarian/Veganified

Ever have a fridge so full of produce you’re not sure what to do with it before it all goes bad? I may be alone here, but I sometimes get a little overzealous at the farmer’s market, imagining I’ll spend every upcoming meal in the kitchen.

Then someone offers to go to my beloved Tasty N’ Sons, or to it up a happy hour and down goes my plan.

Today, I had a pint of yukon gold potatoes, two extra early girl tomatoes, and some haricot vert I never used so naturally, I thought I’d make a Salad Nicoise.

Mark Bittman’s book Food Matters has a great version with optional eggs/tuna, so this is what I chose:

Ingredients:

1/2 lb green beans, trimmed

1 pint small potatoes, halved (yukon gold, fingerlings, etc.)

2 tomatoes (I like Early Girls)

1/2 cup olive oil cured olives (I used Calamata)

Dressing:

1 garlic clove, minced

1/4 cup red wine vinegar

2 teaspoons dijon mustard

2/3 cup olive oil

salt

pepper

3 tablespoons chopped parsley

Method:

Bring a large pot of water to a boil. While you wait, trim green beans, halve potatoes and tomatoes, and put aside a large bowl of ice water (I like to keep mine in the freezer since my tiny kitchen heats up pretty quickly).

Drop beans into boiling water and let cook for 3 minutes. Remove from water with tongs/slotted spoon and place in ice water. Drain. Make a new bowl of ice water.

Add potatoes to still-boiling water and cook for 5 minutes. Remove them the same way as the beans into the ice water.Drain.

Add beans,tomatoes, potatoes and olives into a big bowl.

Make the dressing by combining all ingredients in a small glass and whisking vigorously.

Take some of the veggie mixture and make yourself a plate or bowl and top with dressing. Reserve the rest of the dressing/veggies for another meal, and enjoy.

Do you ever make Salad Nicoise? Do you think it’s just wrong without eggs or tuna?

Leave a Reply

